Pullman Melbourne on the Park
15, 16 & 17 June 2024

The BookPeople Penguin Random House Australia Young Bookseller of the Year Award recognises and rewards the excellence of a bookseller 35 years of age or under and promotes bookselling as a career choice for young people. This award gives booksellers the chance to be recognised by the book industry for their career achievements, innovation and outstanding performance in their stores as well as the local and wider community. The recipient of the award will receive $1,000. 

CONGRATULATIONS to the Penguin Random House 2024 Young Bookseller of the Year SHORTLIST

Madeleine Delany,
 Fullers Bookshop, Hobart TAS
Lexie Eatock, Better Read Than Dead, Newton NSW
Manuela Ocampo, The Book Cow Bookshop ACT
Evie Rashell, The Book Warehouse, Lismore NSW
Indianna Saunders-Shaw, Farrells Bookshop, Mornington VIC
Molly Smith, Readings Emporium, Melbourne VIC

The 2024 winner will be announced during the BookPeople gala dinner in Melbourne on 16th June


2023: Emily Westmoreland, Avenue Bookstore
2022: Kimaya Charlton, Where the Wild Things Are
2021: Genevieve Kruyssen, Where the Wild Things Are
2020: Simon McDonald, Potts Point Bookshop
2019: Aisling Lawless, Dymocks Joondalup
2018: Tim Jarvis, Fullers
2017: Sarah Deasy, Avid Reader
2016: Amelia Lush, Better Read Than Dead
2015: Gerard Elson, Readings St Kilda
2014: Helene Byfield, Books Kinokuniya
2013: Louise Fay, Dymocks Adelaide
2012: Megan O'Brien, Shearers Bookshop

1. A nominee can self‐nominate or be nominated by a peer, employer, or industry colleague and must work at a BookPeople member bookshop.
2. The candidate must be aged 35 or under as of June 16, 2024.
3. The nominee must have worked at least two years in bookshops and must be working at least 20 hours per week.
4. The judging will be made by a panel. No correspondence will be entered in to.
5. Not open to Committee of Management members (employees of the Committee of Management can be nominated).
6. Booksellers can be nominated in one award category only in the same year.
7. Previous winners of this award are not eligible for nomination.
6. CLOSING DATE: 5:00 pm Tuesday 30th April 2024