The BookPeople BookData - Adult Fiction Book of the Year Award recognises the adult fiction new release that booksellers most enjoyed reading, marketing and handselling during the previous year. We believe it is a special award because it is decided by the people who care enough to personally recommend and put a book in the hands of the reading public. 

BookPeople BookData - Adult Fiction Book of the Year 2023

  • Limberlost by Robbie Arnott (Text Publishing)
2022 Winner Love & Virtue by Diana Reid (Ultimo Press)
2021 Winner: The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams (Affirm Press)
2020 Joint Winners: There Was Still Love by Favel Parrett (Hachette Australia) | The Yield by Tara June Winch (Hamish Hamilton/PRH)
2019 Winner: Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton (HarperCollins Australia)
2018 Winner: Nevermoor, Jessica Townsend (Hachette)
2017 Winner: The Birdman's Wife, Melissa Ashley (Affirm Press)
2016 Winner: Reckoning: A Memoir, Magda Szubanski (Text Publishing)
2015 Winner: The 52-Storey Treehouse, Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton (Pan Macmillan)
2014 Winner: Burial Rites, Hannah Kent (Hachette)
2013 Winner: 
The Light Between Oceans, M.L. Stedman (Random House)
2012 Winner: All that I Am, Anna Funder, (Text Publishing)
2011 Winner: The Happiest Refugee, Anh Doh (Allen & Unwin)
2010 Winner: The Kichen Garden, Stephanie Alexander (Lantern)
2009 Winner: The Slap, Christos Tsiolkas (Allen & Unwin)
2008 Winner: Girl Stuff, Kaz Cooke (Penguin Australia)
2007 Winner: Salvation Creek, Susan Duncan (Random House Australia)
2006 Winner: The Secret River, Kate Grenville (Text)
2004 Winner: Joe Cinque's Consolation, Helen Garner (Picador)
2003 Joint Winners: Mao's Last Dancer, Li Cunxin | Death Sentence, Don Watson
2002 Winner: Diary of a Wombat, Jackie French & Bruce Whatley
2001 Winner: Dirt Music, Tim Winton (Picador)
2000 Winner: The Blue Day Book, Bradley Trevor Greive
1999 Winner: Stravinsky's Lunch, Drusilla Modjeska
1998 Winner: The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Richard Flanagan
1997 Winner: Burning for Revenge, John Marsden
1996 Joint Winners: Night Letters, Robert Dessaix | The Cook's Companion, Stephanie Alexander
1995 Winner: The First Stone, Helen Garner
1994 Winner: The Orchard, Drusilla Modjeska

This award is proudly supported on the membership's behalf by Nielsen and the ABA.